2011 American Music Awards Features Latino Artists In 39th Ceremony

2011 American Music Awards – The 39th American Music Awards will feature among its leading 2011 figures Sunday. Some of the Latino artists include Jennifer Lopez, Marc Anthony, Pitbull, Enrique Iglesias and Christina Aguilera in a ceremony where the singer Adele is the big favorite.

The British singer of “Rolling in the Deep” has been nominated for four of these prizes including Artist of the Year, a category where she will compete with Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, Katy Perry and Taylor Swift, all with a chance to take three prizes, as do Rihanna and The Band Perry.

The gala to be held Sunday at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles at 5:00 p.m. (0100 GMT Monday) – though the broadcast on ABC will be delayed for the West Coast – will feature a previous event starting an hour earlier and celebrity arrivals on the red carpet that can be followed live on the Internet.

The rapper of Cuban descent Pitbull is the Latino with the most chances at the 2011 American Music Awards this year with two nominations, one as Favorite Male Artist in Pop or Rock Music, where he will compete against Justin Bieber and Bruno Mars, and another as Favorite Artist in Latin Music, where he is up against Enrique Iglesias and Jennifer Lopez.

Also with two nominations are Beyonce, Bruno Mars, Chris Brown, Jason Aldean, Kanye West, LMFAO and Nicki Minaj, while Angeleno artist Miguel of Mexican origin is a candidate for New Artist of the Year in Soul/R&B.

Pitbull will also take the stage to provide some musical backing for the awards in a performance accompanied by Marc Anthony and Lil Jon.

Maroon 5 will interpret their number “Moves Like Jagger” together with Christina Aguilera, while Enrique Iglesias will do a duo with Ludacris, Jennifer Lopez will harmonize with Will.i.am of The Black Eyed Peas, and Nicki Minaj will do the same with David Guetta.

The list of singers who will put music in the 2011 American Music Awards also includes Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Drake, Chris Brown, Mary J. Blige, Kelly Clarkson, Daughtry, The Band Perry, OneRepublic and Gym Class Heroes.