Mary Tyler Moore Receives SAG Annual Life Achievement Award

Mary Tyler Moore will receive SAG’s 48th Annual Life Achievement Award and will be by Dick Van Dyke.

The actress is best known for her role as Mary Richards on “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” which aired from 1970-1977. She will be honored at the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angles, it will be live on TBS and TNN at 8 p.m. ET.

Exactly what comprises “its own” may be changing for the actors. Over the weekend, executive boards at both SAG and AFTRA approved a merger plan that would bring under one umbrella SAG’s roughly 120,000 members and AFTRA’s 70,000.  Both memberships have to approve the plan for it to take effect.

Stage and screen star Mary Tyler Moore will receive the 48th Annual Life Achievement Award during the ceremony; Dick Van Dyke will present Moore with her award.

On the film side,  “The Help” led the way wth four nominations, including best cast, Viola Davis for best acgress and Jessica Chastain and Octavia Spencer for best supporting actress. Oscar front-runner “The Artist” received three, including best cast.

For TV, HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire” and its star, Steve Buscemi, will try to repeat last year’s wins fo best drama series cast and best drama actor.

“Modern Family,” was the most nominated comedy series this year with five nods. The cast was nominated while Ty Burrell and Eric Stonestreet will compete against each other for best actor while Julie Bowen and Sofia Vergara are both nominated in the best actress category.

Betty White is up for two individual honors, including for best actress in a comedy for “Hot in Cleveland,” which she won last year, and best actress in a movie or mini-series for her work in “Hallmark Hall of Fame: The Lost Valentine.” White, the darling of last year’s SAG telecast, just turned 90.

Presenters include Kathy Bates, George Clooney, Sir Ben Kingsley, Melissa McCarthy, Brad Pitt, Zoe Saldana, Owen Wilson, Kristen Wiig, Kevin Bacon, Kenneth Branagh, Kyle Chandler, Matt Czuchry, Patrick Duffy, Jean Dujardin, Tina Fey, Linda Gray, Judy Greer, Larry Hagman, Armie Hammer, Ed Helms, SAG President Ken Howard, Regina King, John Krasinski, Julianna Margulies, Natalie Portman, Maya Rudolph, Kyra Sedgwick, Meryl Streep and Michelle Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *