​Cameron Tringale Confesses To PGA Over Scoreboard Error

Cameron Tringale Confesses
By: | Follow Twitter:
August 19, 2021

Cameron Tringale confesses to have missed a stroke when attempting to tap in on the 11th hole last week.

According to The Inquisitr, Tringale admitted the scorecard error that took place during the golf tournament. The pro golfer asked to be disqualified from the 2014 PGA Championship. Cameron himself claims to be unsure about whether he actually addressed the ball, which would decide if it warranted the penalty-the Mission Viejo, California, native claims to have been guilt-ridden over the past week.

Cameron released a statement:

“Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded.”

Under league rules, a player is disqualified if he signs an incorrect scorecard. The mishit would have added an extra stroke to his round, taking him from a tie for 33rd place (four under par) to a tie for 36th. By virtue of his disqualification, Tringale will forfeit his $53,000 in prize money.

Tringale will also be giving away his finest performance in a major championship. In four previous major starts, the pro golfer missed the cut three times and finished 72nd in the 2012 PGA Championship. Still without a win in his professional career, last week was his finest overall performance as a pro given the stage.

Kerry Haigh, the PGA’s chief championships officer, told ESPN:

“We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation … It again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors.”

The pro golfer’s disqualification will lead to a slight alteration in the final standings. Each player who finished behind him will move up one spot. For example, the 36th-place finishers will now go down in the record books as finishing 35th.

As Cameron Tringale confesses, it is drawing a mixture of praise, confusion and a certain level of eye-rolling at someone willingly giving up $53,000.

Ranked No. 107 in the world, he had been in the midst of his finest professional season. He has two top-five finishes, sits No. 50 in the FedEx Cup rankings and has only missed the cut six times in 27 events.

While Cameron Tringale confesses about the play, he’s gone through the 2013 season without qualifying for a major. It looked like the pro golfer was capping off 2014 with some momentum. Instead, he’ll go down on a long list of golfers who have chosen honor over padding their pockets.