MLB Gold Gloves 2011 Winners

Gold Gloves 2011 – Baltimore’s Nick Markakis was the American League’s representative in right field on the 2011 Gold Glove Award team, ending a run of 10 consecutive defensive honors for the Mariners’ Ichiro Suzuki.

the Gold Glove, is the award given annually to the Major League Baseball players judged to have exhibited superior individual fielding performances at each fielding position in both the National League (NL) and the American League (AL), as voted by the managers and coaches in each league.

Markakis was one of the five first-time winners in the AL, joining Baltimore catcher Matt Wieters, Angels shortstop Erick Aybar, Royals left fielder Alex Gordon and Red Sox center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury.

White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle, Red Sox first baseman Adrian Gonzalez and Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre each won their third Gold Glove, while Boston’s Dustin Pedroia captured his second to round out the AL squad.

In the National League, Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina topped all award winners with his fourth defensive honor. Los Angeles’ Clayton Kershaw, the front-runner for the Cy Young Award, took home his first Gold Glove, as did Reds first baseman Joey Votto, Diamondbacks left fielder Gerardo Parra and Dodgers right fielder Andre Ethier.

Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips and Phillies third baseman Placido Polanco each won their third Gold Gloves, while Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and Los Angeles center fielder Matt Kemp won their second.

The most Gold Gloves ever won by one player is 18 by pitcher Greg Maddux. He won 13 consecutive awards from 1990 to 2002, all in the National League. Brooks Robinson has the most wins as a third baseman, with 16 Gold Gloves, and is tied for the second-highest total overall with pitcher Jim Kaat, who won his 16 awards consecutively.

Related Tweets On Twitter