Heisman Trophy Winner Is Robert Griffin III From Standford

The Heisman Trophy winner for 2011 is Robert Griffin III.

The junior quarterback was the first Baylor player to take home college football’s most famous trophy.

RG3 was able to beat out Andrew Luck, the preseason favorite from Stanford, Griffin finished a distant second.

Griffin made the most of his opportunity and came back from injury to lead his team to new heights.

Right before he was announced as the Heisman Winner, he took a deep breath. When it was announced he broke into a bright smile, his face framed by his long braided hair. Then it was hugs all around, for his coaches, his parents, his sister and his fiancé.

“This is unbelievably believable,” he said. “It’s unbelievable because in the moment we’re all amazed when great things happen. But it’s believable because great things don’t happen without hard work.”

The brand new Heisman Winner is an aspiring lawyer who is working on a master’s degree in communications.