​States With No Income Tax List​​

August 26, 2021

States With No Income Tax. States with no personal income tax produces job growth because of business incentives. In fact, most people feel they pay the Internal Revenue Service enough, and the added payroll deduction is just another headache.

There are seven states that have no state income tax: Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington and Wyoming. Two others, New Hampshire and Tennessee, tax only dividend and interest income. Employee deductions are typically on the annual federal return.

The fact that a state does not have an income tax does not necessarily mean that its residents pay less in taxes than residents of states with an income tax. All states must generate revenue and they do so through various taxes including income taxes, sales taxes, property taxes, license taxes, fuel taxes, and estate and inheritance taxes, just to name a few. In states without state income tax, higher sales, property and other assorted taxes can exceed the annual cost of a state income tax.

For example, all states except Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon currently charge sales tax. Food, clothing and prescription drugs are exempt from sales tax in most states.

In addition to states; cities, counties, school districts and other jurisdictions impose real estate and sales taxes. For cities that do not sell their own utilities, like electricity and water, these taxes represent their main source of revenue.

Still, it is worth noting that during 2006 and 2007, the seven states with no income tax whatsoever, Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington and Wyoming, led the nation in net population growth.