​Cheerios Recall 2015: Consumers With Wheat Allergies Warned Of Flour Ingredient


Cheerios Recall 2015: General Mills issued a recall for its Cheerios gluten-free cereal produced in July 2015 after discovering that wheat was accidentally introduced.

​Cheerios Recall 2015

About 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios is being recalled. General Mills said that some of their products could put people with wheat allergies and celiac disease at risk, according to CNN Money.

In an apologetic letter to the public, General Mills senior vice president and president of the cereal division, Jim Murphy, said, “I am embarrassed and truly sorry to announce today that we are recalling boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on several dates at our Lodi, California facility.”

wheat allergies

The voluntary recall is due to wheat contamination in the cereals which are sold as gluten free products.

According to the company, the contamination occurred during four days of production of classic Cheerios and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at the company’s Lodi facility in July. Other General Mills plants were not affected.

The company says the recall affects boxes labeled with the following codes:

product codes

In addition to its statement, Cheerios released a helpful infographic about the affected products on Twitter.

We’re so sorry to announce we’re recalling some boxes of Cheerios/Honey Nut Cheerios. Please view image below & share pic.twitter.com/L9gxUutA3j

— Cheerios (@cheerios) October 5, 2021

Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease, which affects about 1 percent of the population, according to the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for people with gluten intolerance.

In light of the contamination, General Mills said it is instituting additional flour-handling protocols at all of their facilities to ensure contamination will not happen again.

“Please know we’ll be working even harder to earn back your trust,” Murphy said in a statement. “We sincerely apologize to the gluten-free community and to anyone who may have been impacted.”

Consumers who would like to request refunds or who have further questions can contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

Image Credit: https://s.abcnews.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *