​Tiger Questions BMW Championship Two Stroke Penalty​​

By:
September 16, 2021

Tiger Woods did his best to advance without violating more rules on the course, but admitted he still questions the BMW Championship after he felt he faced a two stroke-penalty following the second round, and he made sure everyone knew that he disagreed.

Woods shot a 5-under-par 66 in the third round at Conway Farms Golf Club, but the two-shot penalty he received for an incident that occurred on the first hole Friday may ultimately prove large. He trails tournament leader Jim Furyk by four strokes.

“I was pretty hot because I felt like nothing happened,” Woods said Saturday in his first comments about the situation. “I felt like the ball oscillated, and that was it. I played the rest of the round grinding my tail off to get myself back in the tournament and then go from 5 to 7 behind, that was tough.

“They replayed it again and again and again, and I felt the same way.”

Woods was assessed a two-shot penalty because it was deemed by Slugger White, vice president of competition at the PGA Tour, that Woods caused his ball to move when attempting to remove debris near it behind the first green.

According to Rule 18-2a., if a player causes his ball to move, it’s a one-stroke penalty. However, because Woods did not return the ball to its original position, he was assessed another stroke.

Woods said he reviewed the video several times with White and another PGA Tour official, Tyler Dennis, and still felt the ball did not move from its position.

“After seeing the video I thought the ball just oscillated, and I thought that was it,” he said. “I thought that was the end of story. But they saw otherwise.”

White, a longtime PGA Tour rules official, said, “It’s pretty clear the ball moved.”

Typically in rules disputes, the word of the player is taken. But in this case, the video, to White, showed an infraction.

Woods had trouble on the hole as it was Friday, hitting his ball over the green and into a wooded area. He made a double-bogey 6 that turned into an 8 after the penalty. It meant a 72 instead of a 70 and a seven-shot deficit instead of 5 entering Saturday’s third round.