​Von Miller Carries Exclusive Franchise Tag With Denver Broncos

Von Miller
Author: Michael StevensBy:
Staff Reporter
Mar. 2, 2016

Von Miller now carries an exclusive franchise tag with the Denver Broncos. Unless Miller and the Broncos can come to terms on a long-term deal by July 15, the Super Bowl 50 MVP will make the average of the top-five salaries of his position for this year, according to Yardbarker.

Miller is set to earn a guaranteed one-year tender offer of $14.129 million under the franchise tag. And since it’s an exclusive tag, that will prohibit Von from talking to any other teams.

Von Miller gets franchise tag with Denver Broncos

Von Miller gets franchise tag with Denver Broncos

“Designating Von as our franchise player gives us the time to continue working toward a long-term agreement,” Broncos general manager John Elway said in a statement. “We’ve had productive talks with Von’s representation, and we’ll continue those discussions with the goal of making sure Von remains a Bronco well into the future.”

Von Miller, 26, had 11 sacks, 35 tackles and four forced fumbles en route to ” target=”_blank”>his fourth Pro Bowl selection in 2015. He has 60 career regular-season sacks.

One of the league’s best impact pass-rushers, Miller had 2.5 sacks and two forced fumbles as the Broncos beat the Carolina Panthers24-10 in Super Bowl 50. Von also had 2.5 sacks and an interception in the Broncos’ win over the Patriots in the AFC Championship Game.

Super Bowl 50 MVP

Miller, who was taken with the No. 2 overall pick in the 2011 draft (Elway’s first selection as GM), is a cornerstone player. The four-time Pro Bowl selection has rebounded from his 2013 suspension for violating the league’s substance abuse policy and has fulfilled the program’s obligations. He was cleared from the program before the 2015 season, which means Miller is no longer subject to increased testing or punishment for repeat offenders.

Von Miller becomes the fifth player in franchise history to get the franchise tag, joining Jason Elam (2002), Matt Prater (2012), Ryan Clady (2013) and Demaryius Thomas (2015).

Tags: ,

Share this article