​Georgia State of Emergency Involves 50 Counties Amid Storm Warning

Staff Reporter
Feb. 26, 2015

A Georgia State of Emergency has been declared by Governor Nathan Deal following a winter storm warning for 50 counties. North Georgia was the hardest hit by bad weather, leaving several motorists stranded in vehicles, according to The Inquisitr. Deal has ordered all government offices in the affected areas to close at noon.

“With forecasts showing we could see accumulation by 4 p.m., I want to make sure we get as many commuters home before then as possible … While current models show that temperatures will remain above freezing, we don’t want to run the risk of having normal rush hour traffic volume if there’s snow or ice on the highways. In an effort to keep as many cars off the road as possible, I encourage people in both the public and private sector who can telecommute to please do so tomorrow.”

Nathan Deal also explained that all resources will be available as they expect to see precipitation.

“We have delayed the state of emergency until the time that we expect to see precipitation, but I’ve made all state resources available tonight for preparation.”

The Georgia Department of Transportation has moved 80 additional staffers into affected areas from other parts of the state, according to WSB-TV Atlanta. At midnight, DOT will mobilize 13 tanker trucks to apply brine to major highways. The State Patrol will deploy 174 troopers for rapid response to accidents, and it will mandate that all tractor trailers pull in to weigh stations to assure that trucks have the proper equipment for travel in snow/ice conditions.

The Department of Natural Resources will place 15 strike teams across the 50 counties to aid in storm response and debris removal, notes Examiner.

The Georgia State of Emergency includes the following counties: Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Hart, Heard, Henry, Jackson, Lumpkin, Madison, Morgan, Murray, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Rockdale, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, Walton, White, and Whitfield.

Share this article